CJTR Volunteer of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Awards 2014

CJTR Volunteer of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Awards 2014

Friday, Dec. 19, 2014 at 9:27 am

Wednesday Dec 17th at CJTR’s annual holiday gathering, the CJTR Volunteer of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Awards for 2014 were presented to two very dedicated and deserving CJTR volunteers.

This year’s Volunteer of the Year is Ben Valiaho.  Ben is a long time host on CJTR, hosting both the Friday morning show and also Off Stream, his electronic music show heard Saturday night at midnight.  This past year Ben has served on the Radius Communications Inc. Board of Directors as the Chair of the programming committee, and is now chair of the promotions committee.  As a former producer with CJTR, Ben maintains a strong connection with station operations and is integral in training new CJTR volunteer programmers.

Ben Valiaho with Radius Communications President Rick August.


CJTR’s Lifetime Achievement Award was presented this year to Karen Haggman.  Karen has been involved with CJTR going back to the months before the station was launched in 2001.  She is a former board member who served in the role of Treasurer, and is currently the Business Officer for CJTR, working closely with station staff in roles too numerous to list accurately. Her contributions over the years have been so important, that it’s not an exaggeration at all to say that CJTR would not exist as it is without her.

Karen Haggman with Radius Communications Inc. President Rick August.

On behalf of the staff, board of directors and volunteers at 91.3FM CJTR, thank you Ben and Karen for your hard work and dedication to community radio in Regina!


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.